Daneshill School was originally founded in 1950 under the name of St. Salvators.
In 1954 St Salvators moved from its original site in Sherborne St. John to the Lutyens designed Daneshill House (itself originally built in 1903), at which point the School also changed name to reflect its new home.
The school moved again in 1973, this time to Dogmersfield Park, near Odiham, a large and historical building on the border between Hampshire and Surrey.
‘Bylands’ was then acquired from the Duke of Wellington’s Estate. This spacious and characterful building, in a beautiful rural setting close to the Hampshire – Berkshire border, became the home for Daneshill Preparatory School in 1979 and remains it today.
The school was under the proprietorship of the Spencer family from 1992 until 2018 during which time it became one of the leading preparatory schools in Hampshire.
After the sad death of Simon Spencer in 2016, the school was acquired by the Wellesley family and now forms part of the Wellington Estate. The Wellesley family have a specific expertise and experience in education and are committed to Daneshill’s long term future as an independent prep school with a focus on the same core values that have established its reputation.